Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service

Home icon

Top tips for staying safe online

Home icon

THINKUKNOW offer some easy steps and some real life videos to let you know some of the consequences of not staying safe online.

Here are some top tips from THINKUKNOW on what you can do to keep yourself protected online:

  • Just as you wouldn’t leave your front door or windows open, you shouldn’t leave your computer or phone unlocked.
  • Your computer, tablet and phone hold loads of information about you. Your name, address, birthday, a list of your friends, hobbies, text messages, private photos and videos. What else might be on there?
  • All of this is personal information which you need to keep secure. It’s valuable to you and to criminals. Make sure you keep it locked up!

Safer sharing

Sharing things you’ve done with your friends is part of the fun of the internet so make sure you know how to do it safely.

Mind your privacy

Most websites, apps and social networks you can share information on have ‘privacy settings’. These help you control what you share and who you share it with. So, it’s your choice to decide whether your friends, friends of friends or everyone can see what you post.

Choose your friends wisely

It’s always best to only share with friends you know in the real world. Remember too that what your friends share about you and their privacy settings online will also affect your digital footprint.

Remove and report to CEOP

Think you shouldn’t have made that comment? Make sure you know how to remove anything you regret posting from any sites you use. If someone’s posted something about you that you’re worried about and refuses to take it down, make sure you know how to report it. Most websites will have a ‘safety centre’ explaining how to do it. Get links for popular websites safety centres.

Know yourself online

It can be hard to keep up with the things we’ve done online so regularly Google yourself. That way you’ll know what other people find out about you, as well as things others might have posted about you.

Shut down or delete

If you stop using a website that you’ve posted information on remember to deactivate your account.

Last updated: 23 March, 2016