Staff Recognition Awards 2018

A galaxy of stars from Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust have been honoured for their exceptional care, values and performance in the 2018 Staff Recognition Awards.

More than 100 people attended, including staff representing areas of the trust – from Wiltshire, Buckinghamshire to Oxfordshire – who were joined by friends, family and senior trust executives in a special ceremony on 29 November.

Awards were made in 11 categories celebrating the caring, safe and excellent service being delivered each day by dedicated individuals and teams.

Trust chief executive Stuart Bell CBE told the audience at the Kassam Stadium, Oxford, of his gratitude and pride in being part of such an ‘incredible’ Trust family.

He said: “I want to thank you all because you are truly outstanding people.

“The trust vision says outstanding care delivered by people. Well you are all here tonight and anybody who has been nominated for these awards is, I believe, outstanding.

“You’ve heard what you and your colleagues have been doing over course of the past year and why these awards have been given.

“It’s absolutely fantastic and I am so proud to be part of the same team as you and I am so grateful for what you do. Thank you so much.”

It was the fourth year of the awards. Each one of the trust’s 6,000-plus staff members had a chance to nominate a team or colleague for special recognition, whether that was being in the forefront of innovation, demonstrating exemplary care, compassion and understanding, or going above and beyond all expectations.

Of the 11 awards one category – Improving Patient Experience – was dedicated to patients’ and service users’ experiences of their treatment with the Trust.

Three new categories recognised volunteers for their unstinting commitment, newly qualified nurses and those who help promote equality and diversity.

Winners received an engraved glass trophy, vouchers (£100 individual, £200 team) and a certificate from Mr Bell and Trust chairman Martin Howell, who will be retiring in March 2019. Master of ceremonies was HR Director Tim Boylin.

View Roll of Honour

Stuart Bell CBE addressing 2018 staff recognition awards

I want to thank you all because you are truly outstanding people. The trust vision says outstanding care delivered by people. Well you are all here tonight and anybody who has been nominated for these awards is, I believe, outstanding.

Stuart Bell CBE

chief executive

Roll of Honour

Winner Tracy Scott

Delivering Care Award

Tracy Scott

Senior Community Nurse
Oxford City Community Learning Disability Team


  • Shona Reed-Purvis, Systemic and Family Psychotherapist, The Clockhouse, Abingdon

Read more

Winner Julie Ashman

SAFE Award

Julie Ashman

Physiotherapy Technical Instructor
Witney Community Hosptial


  • Kimberley Ashwin, Mental Health Liaison Nurse The Slade, Oxford
  • Catherine Sage, Service Manager, Littlemore Mental Health Centre

Read more

Winner Abbey Ward

Recognising Excellence and Innovation Award

Abbey Ward Therapy Team

Abingdon Community Hospital


  • Julie Beardmore, Patient Flow Lead, Abingdon Community Hospital

Read more

Winner Oxfordshire CAMHS OSCA

Teamwork Award (Clinical)

CAMHS OXON OSCA and Crisis Team

Raglan House, Oxford


  • Ruby Ward, The Whiteleaf Centre, Aylesbury
  • Care Home Support Service (CHSS), Windrush House, Witney

Read more

Winner Driver Receptionists

Teamwork Award (Non-Clinical)

Driver Receptionists

Urgent and Ambulatory Care


  • House Keeping Team, Opal Ward, The Whiteleaf Centre, Aylesbury
  • Apprenticeship and Development Team, Unipart House, Oxford

Read more

Winner Gemma Brown

Wellbeing Award

Gemma Brown

Clinical and Professional Development Manager
Learning and Development


  • Alison Murray and Nilam Patel, The Whiteleaf Centre, Aylesbury
  • Rebecca Kelly, Trust Professional Lead Occupational Therapist, Warneford Hospital, Oxford

Read more

Winner Rumi Mohideen

Living the Values Award

Rumi Mohideen

Health Care Assistant, Vaughan Thomas Ward,
Warneford Hospital, Oxford


  • Diane Cloutman, Domestic Assistant, Abingdon Community Hospital OSRU
  • David Frew, Driver Receptionist, Witney GP Out of Hours service

Read more

Winner from Warneford Hospital

Inclusion Award

A Warneford Hospital worker

who does not wish to be publicly identified


  • Learning Disability Physiotherapy Team, Banbury
  • Louis Headley, Oxfordshire CAMHS Participation Lead, Raglan House

Read more

Winner Peer Support Trainees

Volunteer of the Year

Peer Support Trainees

AMHT Wards, Oxfordshire


  • Diane Barton, Bicester Community Hospital Volunteer

Read more

Winner Mary Ward

Volunteer of the Year

Mary Ward

Voluntary Therapy Dog Handler,
Littlemore Mental Health Unit, Oxford


Read more

Winner Giles Loch

Preceptorship Award

Giles Loch

Staff Nurse, Amber Ward, Whiteleaf Centre, Aylesbury


  • Dennis Nguu, Vaughan Thomas Ward, Warneford Hospital, Oxford
  • Goodwin Ngulube, Staff Nurse, Marlborough House, Milton Keynes

Read more

Winner Vaughan Thomas

Improving Patient Experience Award

Vaughan Thomas

Deputy Team Manager, Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service, Melksham, Wiltshire


  • Cotswold House, Warneford, Oxford
  • Miriam Garcia, Occupational Therapist Cotswold House, Oxford

Read more

How do you rate this page?

Thank you for your feedback

Follow us on social media to stay up to date

We are sorry you did not find this page helpful

Tell us how we can improve this page