Oxford Health aiming for more honours in the Parliamentary Awards 2020

Oxford Health aiming for more honours in the Parliamentary Awards 2020

The NHS Parliamentary Awards 2020 have been launched to celebrate and give national recognition to staff who go above and beyond the call of duty.

The NHS has today (March 4)  launched the NHS Parliamentary Awards 2020, to celebrate and give national recognition to staff who go above and beyond the call of duty.

The awards were created to celebrate NHS staff, carers and volunteers their hard work, innovative ideas and unwavering efforts to put patients first, and this year – during 2020 Year of the Nurse and Midwife – the health service is putting the work of these professionals in particular, up in lights.

Oxfordshire’s MPs with OMHP representatives at the Houses of Parliament in 2019

Oxford Health is aiming for further honours following the success last year of  Oxfordshire Mental Health Partnership (OMHP) which scooped the Excellence for Mental Health Care category.

OMHP improves the lives of more than 6,000 people a year living with mental health challenges by offering recovery, hope and ambition. OMPH comprises six local NHS and charity sector organisations – Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust, Oxfordshire Mind, Restore, Response, Connections Floating Support and Elmore Community Services -and they work together to create a recovery programme that offers all-round support and care.

Also enjoying success in the awards last year was Oxford Health’s pioneering project to develop a Digital Care Assistant (DCA), which enables staff to gather observations from mental health inpatients on Vaughan Thomas Ward without waking them at night. It was named regional winner in the Future NHS Award.

Both teams were chosen from hundreds of nominations and received the unanimous backing of all of Oxfordshire’s six MPs.

Members of Parliament are now searching for nominations to submit and want to hear from outstanding individuals in their local area, who have innovated, impressed and made a real difference to how the health service provides care for patients.

Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent, chair of the national judging panel and England’s chief midwifery officer, said: “NHS staff and volunteers make the health service what it is – the largest and greatest care team in the world that provides high quality care to patients throughout the year.

“The NHS Parliamentary Awards area unique opportunity for MPs to highlight the amazing work done by NHS staff in their local areas, and I look forward to working with all of the judges to review the nominations we receive.”

Ruth May, Chief Nursing Officer for England, said: “In 2020 the NHS is celebrating the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife, which recognises the profession and the care that nurses and midwives offer to patients, as well as their expertise, skill and knowledge.

“I would encourage all those who have received high quality care from nurses and midwives, as well as other NHS staff across the health service, to send nominations to their MP to ensure that staff receive the recognition they deserve.”

There are ten categories, including a Lifetime Achievement award to honour those who have devoted their life or career to making the NHS better, both for patients and those who work within it.

Last year more than 200 Members of Parliament nominated an individual or organisation for an award. There were over 600 nominations from MPs in England – 600 examples of talent, creativity and brilliance in the NHS identified by England’s MPs.

The Categories

The Excellence in Healthcare Award: an individual or team which is going above and beyond to improve outcomes and experience for patients living with and beyond cancer.
The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award, supported by Lloyds Banking Group: an individual or team which has developed new and effective services to help people living with mental health problems in the community.
The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: an individual or team which has made improvements to how the NHS treats people in life or death situations.
The Excellence in Primary Care Award, supported by Assura PLC: a primary care practitioner e.g. doctors, dentists and pharmacists or a team which is working with patients to help them stay healthy in their own homes.
The Future NHS Award: an individual or team that has successfully trialled and embedded innovative change(s) to empower and improve care for patients.
The Health Equalities Award: an individual or organisation that helps the NHS to do its bit by bringing together different groups and organisations to reduce health inequalities and prevent ill health in their community.
The Care and Compassion Award: any nurse, midwife or care staff member of any discipline and in any setting,  who has used their skills to ensure that patients experience care and compassion.
The Wellbeing at Work Award: to the person or team that has successfully trialled and embedded change(s) that have made the NHS a better place to work.
The NHS Rising Star Award (New for 2020): to staff, volunteers and health and care workers who are under the age of 30 who have worked to help shape and deliver better services in their area.
The Lifetime Achievement Award: for an individual who has worked within a health or care setting for 40 years or more who has left a lasting legacy.


How do you rate this page?

Thank you for your feedback

Follow us on social media to stay up to date

We are sorry you did not find this page helpful

Tell us how we can improve this page

Published: 4 March 2020